Screenshot 2019-08-27 at 20.00.31.png

After 3 days down in Coventry, the Promoters of Speedway Great Britain got together to decide the future of the top two British leagues for 2020. Here's the League and Formats for the Premiership and Championship:


Teams: Belle Vue, Ipswich, King's Lynn, Peterborough, Sheffield, Swindon, Wolverhampton.

Race Nights: Mondays and Thursdays

Points Limit: 42.50

League Format: Teams to face each other twice at home, twice away.

                          Play-offs to include two semi-finals and a final between top four teams

Premiership Supporters' Cup Format: League teams split into North and South

                                                             North- Belle Vue, Sheffield, Wolverhampton

                                                             South- Ipswich, King's Lynn, Peterborough, Swindon

                                                             Winners of each group to face in final


Teams: Berwick, Birmingham, Eastbourne, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Kent, Leicester, Newcastle (subject to survival), Poole, Redcar, Scunthorpe, Somerset

Race Nights: Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays

Points Limit: 41.00

League Format: Teams split into North and South

                          North- Berwick, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Newcastle (subject to survival), Redcar, 


                          South- Birmingham, Eastbourne, Kent, Leicester, Poole, Somerset

                          Teams within same group to face twice at home and twice away, teams in                                     opposite groups face once at home and once away

                          Play-offs between top six teams

KO Cup and Championship Shield Format: To be confirmed when future of Newcastle clear